Skip to content
Car Cabin Gear
Back to topic

Dash cam storage

Dash Cam Recording Time: Capacity, Bitrate and Card Compatibility

A reproducible storage calculation, model-specific capacity constraints and the checks that separate endurance claims from documented compatibility.

Quick answer

At 40 Mbps aggregate, 128 decimal GB with 10% reserved stores 6.4 hours. Your camera may use a different bitrate or reserved partition. Calculate retention first, then verify the exact card against the camera documentation.

Endurance rating matters more than headline speed alone.

Format the card the way the camera maker recommends.

Keep a spare card if footage retention matters.

Work the calculation

128 × 0.9 = 115.2 usable decimal GB. Multiplying by 8000 converts GB to megabits; dividing by 40 Mbps gives 23,040 seconds, which is 6.4 hours. At 80 Mbps the same space lasts 3.2 hours. Two channels at 25 and 15 Mbps total 40 Mbps, not 80. The estimator exposes every input and permits a bitrate range.

Two documented compatibility boundaries

THINKWARE F200 PRO English manual v1.0 lists UHS-I cards at 16/32/64/128 GB; THINKWARE’s support guidance does not guarantee third-party cards. VIOFO A229 Plus supports up to 512 GB and the manufacturer recommends its original cards or SanDisk MAX Endurance. Do not substitute a broad brand family or infer compatibility from V30 or an endurance label alone. Check exact firmware and regional hardware before buying.

Measure the mode you actually use

Video file size changes with resolution, codec, quality settings and scene complexity. Use several clips at the actual settings, calculate MB × 8 ÷ seconds for each channel, then sum the ranges. Event parking and driving may use different partitions and rates; the driving-days number is not a promise of all-night recording.

Maintain the recording system

Back up important files before formatting. Use the camera’s official procedure; the F200 PRO viewer manages format and memory partitions. VIOFO recommends periodic formatting and provides model-specific instructions. After changing firmware, power or cards, record a short clip while parked and check it plays. Keep the original clip until you know the new recording opens correctly.

The manufacturer details behind this tool

Sources checked September 18, 2026. These are published specifications and instructions, not results from hands-on testing. Open the source to check the exact model and version.

Primary sources supporting this method
Source and sectionWhat it establishes
THINKWARE F200 PRO User Guide

pp. 26, 30–32; memory, firmware, specifications. F200 PRO, English/European documentation, v1.0; exact hardware revision still needs owner confirmation.

16/32/64/128 GB UHS-I capacities listed. Front/rear continuous recording; parking requires hardwiring in this manual. Formatting and storage partitions are configured in the viewer; back up before formatting.

Evidence: manual. Source revision: 2020-08.

THINKWARE compatible microSD cards and capacity

Compatible MicroSD Cards; Maximum Capacity by Model. F200 PRO row, 128 GB maximum.

THINKWARE recommends its own cards; third-party card compatibility is not guaranteed. F200 PRO appears under 128 GB.

Evidence: manufacturer. Source revision: not stated.

VIOFO model FAQ

A229 Plus storage capacity. A229 Plus; selected 2CH front/rear configuration.

Supports microSD up to 512 GB. Use the exact model manual for installation and firmware; do not interchange similarly named firmware.

Evidence: manufacturer. Source revision: not stated.

VIOFO recommended memory cards

Manufacturer recommendations. VIOFO camera guidance, constrained by model capacity.

Recommends VIOFO original and SanDisk MAX Endurance cards. A speed class alone does not establish compatibility.

Evidence: manufacturer. Source revision: not stated.

VIOFO recording time and bitrate tables

A229 PLUS table. Manufacturer test data by recording mode; firmware applicability not stated.

Tables vary by model and recording mode; use a measured clip range when exact mode/firmware is not known. The A229 Plus 2CH 1440p30 + 1440p30 normal-setting table lists 6.5 hours for 128 GB. Firmware and reserve are unstated; it is a manufacturer reference, not a measured Mbps input.

Evidence: manufacturer. Source revision: 2026-02-13.

VIOFO formatting guidance

Format on camera; format warnings. General VIOFO guidance; confirm exact camera instructions.

Manufacturer suggests monthly formatting, more often with frequent use. Save needed clips first; formatting erases files.

Evidence: manufacturer. Source revision: 2023-06-06.