Skip to content
Car Cabin Gear

Interactive tool

How long will your dash cam keep a recording?

Turn card capacity and recording settings into hours of footage. Try the example, or use file sizes from your own camera for a better estimate.

Measure • check • decide

Recording time you can reproduce

Inputs stay in this browser tab. No account, VIN or email needed. Examples are illustrative, not measurements of your vehicle.

Mbps for each recorded channel — summed once

Use the same number for minimum and maximum if known. From a clip: decimal file MB × 8 ÷ seconds. Include all concurrent streams; measure representative clips in your actual resolution, codec and firmware. The example 20 + 20 Mbps is not a claim about either profile.

Arithmetic example and limits

128 decimal GB × 0.9 = 115.2 GB. At 40 Mbps aggregate: 115.2 × 8000 ÷ (40 × 3600) = 6.4 hours. At two driving hours/day, 3.2 driving days. 128 GiB instead gives about 6.87 hours. These are arithmetic fixtures, not camera test results.

A size check is one part of the decision. Confirm the product instructions and safe installation before using your setup.

Quick answer

128 decimal GB at 40 Mbps total with 10% reserved gives 6.4 recording hours. At two recording hours per driving day, that is 3.2 driving days. This is an arithmetic example, not a camera measurement.

Storage method

Continuous hours = usable decimal GB × 8000 ÷ (aggregate Mbps × 3600). Aggregate bitrate is the sum of concurrently recorded channels, counted once. Usable GB = labeled GB × (1 − reserve/100). One GiB equals 1.073741824 decimal GB. The 10% default reserve is an editable planning assumption for file overhead and protected clips, not a measured firmware allocation.

How to measure a bitrate range

Save several representative clips using your actual resolution, HDR, codec, channel configuration and firmware. For each channel, divide decimal file megabytes times eight by clip duration in seconds. Enter the smallest and largest rates. The calculator uses the largest total bitrate for the shortest retention estimate. Manufacturer tables may help only when the mode and firmware apply.

Capacity does not prove card compatibility

The THINKWARE F200 PRO manual lists UHS-I 16, 32, 64 and 128 GB. THINKWARE recommends its own cards; a third-party endurance label is not a compatibility guarantee. VIOFO A229 Plus documentation supports up to 512 GB, and current VIOFO card guidance distinguishes SanDisk MAX Endurance from High Endurance. Follow the exact camera’s card guidance before ordering.

Event parking is a scenario

Events/day multiplied by clip seconds (including buffers) supplies a separate assumed recording duty cycle. It cannot predict how often a sensor triggers, how partitions fill, or how long the vehicle can power the camera. Locked files, concurrent driving footage, time-lapse and partition settings can shorten the loop window. Save important recordings promptly.

The manufacturer details behind this tool

Sources checked September 18, 2026. These are published specifications and instructions, not results from hands-on testing. Open the source to check the exact model and version.

Primary sources supporting this method
Source and sectionWhat it establishes
THINKWARE F200 PRO User Guide

pp. 26, 30–32; memory, firmware, specifications. F200 PRO, English/European documentation, v1.0; exact hardware revision still needs owner confirmation.

16/32/64/128 GB UHS-I capacities listed. Front/rear continuous recording; parking requires hardwiring in this manual. Formatting and storage partitions are configured in the viewer; back up before formatting.

Evidence: manual. Source revision: 2020-08.

THINKWARE compatible microSD cards and capacity

Compatible MicroSD Cards; Maximum Capacity by Model. F200 PRO row, 128 GB maximum.

THINKWARE recommends its own cards; third-party card compatibility is not guaranteed. F200 PRO appears under 128 GB.

Evidence: manufacturer. Source revision: not stated.

VIOFO model FAQ

A229 Plus storage capacity. A229 Plus; selected 2CH front/rear configuration.

Supports microSD up to 512 GB. Use the exact model manual for installation and firmware; do not interchange similarly named firmware.

Evidence: manufacturer. Source revision: not stated.

VIOFO recommended memory cards

Manufacturer recommendations. VIOFO camera guidance, constrained by model capacity.

Recommends VIOFO original and SanDisk MAX Endurance cards. A speed class alone does not establish compatibility.

Evidence: manufacturer. Source revision: not stated.

VIOFO recording time and bitrate tables

A229 PLUS table. Manufacturer test data by recording mode; firmware applicability not stated.

Tables vary by model and recording mode; use a measured clip range when exact mode/firmware is not known. The A229 Plus 2CH 1440p30 + 1440p30 normal-setting table lists 6.5 hours for 128 GB. Firmware and reserve are unstated; it is a manufacturer reference, not a measured Mbps input.

Evidence: manufacturer. Source revision: 2026-02-13.

VIOFO formatting guidance

Format on camera; format warnings. General VIOFO guidance; confirm exact camera instructions.

Manufacturer suggests monthly formatting, more often with frequent use. Save needed clips first; formatting erases files.

Evidence: manufacturer. Source revision: 2023-06-06.